10 Books To Read If You Liked The Hunger Games

 So, it’s the last ever year for a new “The Hunger Games” movie and as excited as we are for the last and final installment to the movie franchise: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2, fans around the world are preparing themselves for that dreadful mourning period.

You’ve devoured the books, you’ve poured over the movies and now there will soon be nothing else left… what ever will you do? Fear not for we have compiled a list of other book suggestions that are similar to fill that empty void in your hearts.

— In absolutely no particular order —

1. Legend – Marie Lu 

Genre: Dystopian, Young-Adult, Action, Romance

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★☆☆ (3.5/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (3.8/5)

What it’s about: The most wanted teen trouble maker called Day and the country’s teen prodigy June find their paths twisted in a ruined post-American government. June’s brother finds himself to be murdered by whom June suspects is Day. In sought of revenge June then finds herself on a mission for the government to capture Day for execution but let’s just say that things don’t exactly go as planned…

Why you’ll like it: Honestly, this book is so like The Hunger Games. Whilst reading the series I found myself constantly making parallels and connections. The book even has this extremely quick, action-packed, first person narrative. It’s safe to say, you’re not likely to be bored. I’d call this book a super YA book. You make of that what you will.

(representing the speed at which you’ll read this series)

Movie rights have currently been sold.

2. Divergent – Veronica Roth

Genre: Dystopian, Young-Adult, Romance, Utopian, Sci-fi (sort of)

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★★ (4.8/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★ (4.7/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.3/5)

What it’s about: Honestly, if you liked The Hunger Games you’ve probably already read this.

For those that haven’t: It follows the narrative of a sixteen year old girl called Beatrice Prior who lives in a secluded Chicago where the society is split into factions. At 16 the society makes them take a test that determines their strongest characteristic and what faction they’d be most suitable for.

Beatrice takes the test and – shocker – finds that she is suitable for more than one faction. This is called Divergent. This is dangerous. 

Why you’ll like it: The first book is fun and action-packed and just kicks butt. It again follows a pretty strong female character, at least in the first book, and the voices for both series feel pretty similar. I mean, there’s a reason why the Divergent fandom and The Hunger Games fandom are constantly bickering on social media.

As with every teen novel nowadays, there is a movie.

3. The Maze Runner – James Dashner

Genre: Dystopian, Young-Adult, Apocalyptic, Sci-fi, Action

Divya’s Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2/5)

Ashali’s Rating: n/a

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

What it’s about: Mazes and a lot of running.

Thomas, the main character, finds himself in a lift in which he remembers almost nothing except for his name. He discovers a whole gaggle of boys who don’t seem to remember anything about themselves too stuck inside a maze. The only way out is through the stone walls but the problem is the maze changes every night.

One day, a girl arrives. She has a message.

“Remember. Survive. Run.”

Why you’ll like it: In all honesty I didn’t like this series as much as everyone else, but don’t get me wrong I can definitely see the appeal. It just didn’t “wow” me. I think this was mainly due to the writing style – which, many other people also have a problem with.

But if you like The Hunger Games then I’m guessing you like survival and apocalyptic-esque books. The Maze Runner is exactly that.

Honestly, the only writer of this blog who even likes it is Maliha. Ashali hasn’t read it. I’m not even sure why I included this in the list. 

The Maze Runner is beautiful. It’s quite action packed.


– Maliha R.

Movie.

4. Throne Of Glass – Sarah J Maas

Genre: High Fantasy, Fantasy, Historical, Young-Adult, Magic, Action, Romance.

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★☆ (4/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★ (10000000000/5)

What it’s about: Celaena Sardothien, the most notorious assassin has been instructed to meet with the Crown Prince after serving a year in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes.

He has an offer for her. She can claim freedom if she accepts to compete as his champion in a competition to be the royal assassin.

Why you’ll like it: Erm, pretty much a to-the-death competition to be an assassin, anyone? Celaena is a badass female character who is hot and she knows it and she uses this to kill her enemies.

The story is wonderfully written with each successor in the series better than the last. There’s twists and turns, hints of magic, sarcasm, action and even a love triangle – if that’s your type of thing.

5. The Fifth Wave – Rick Yancey

Genre: Apocalyptic, Young-Adult, Survival, Adventure, Alien, Romance, Dystopian, Survival

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★ (4.8/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

What it’s about: It’s about aliens.

The “waves” are different forms of alien attack, by a race the humans call “The Others”, and how they managed to wipe out a large proportion of the world’s population. ‘Cassie’ Sullivan is amongst the survivors and she believes she is the only one left.

Why you’ll like it: Although many readers have pointed out that the beginning of the novel feels a bit slow, due to it being mostly back story, they often agree that halfway through the book they were hooked.

Cassie displays this dry humour and often there’s pop culture references which many readers (including myself) loved in moments when the book could be quite dismal. She’s a pretty strong character who often finds herself making decisions she doesn’t want to make.

It’s a heart-pumping, plot-twisty kind of book (although some elements are predictable) with multiple P.O.V’s. To be frank, just pick it up and try it. Just don’t trust everyone you meet.

Also, there’s going to be a movie.

6. The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

Genre: Dystopian, Young-Adult, Sci-fi, Paranormal, Romance.

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★ (5/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

What it’s about: So, there’s this disease rampaging across America. But, weirdly enough, it only seems to be affecting the children. The children who are affected either die or, they gain superpowers.

Ruby, the protagonist, changed when she was 10. Something so horrifying that her parents were forced to call the police and send her off to a rehabilitation camp called “Thurmond” where the government keeps these kids with uncontrollable powers.

Now Ruby is 16. And she’s on the run.

Why you’ll like it: The first book was “all the feels”. You will fall in love with the characters, you will laugh out loud, you will fist pump into the air, you will stare in awe when they demonstrate their powers, you will cringe, you will bash this book against a wall and by the end of it, your heart will break.

Ruby’s character development was wonderful. The relationship that begins to form between her and this gang of teenagers she meets is full of humour that had me laughing and honestly, I loved every one of the gang.

The book is just so fun.

There might be a movie.

7. Angelfall – Susan EE

Genre: Apocalyptic, Young-Adult, Romance (kind of), Paranormal, Angels, Supernatural, Dystopian

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★☆ (4.5/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

What it’s about: It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain.

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…


Why you’ll like it: The book is creepy. It’s also very disturbing. You might not think so because of the cover but at times the book really has you raising eyebrows. It’s gritty and dark and fantastic.

Just like Katniss, Penryn has a drive and a love to save her younger sister, Paige, who was kidnapped by an angel during a fight that broke out on the street. Just like Katniss, Penryn is skilled and smart when it comes to fighting.

It’s very fast paced and the dynamics between Raffe, the angel, and Penryn, the main protagonist (who is kick-ass), had me clutching my stomach because it was just so darn funny.

It’s hard to say why someone else will like this book when you liked absolutely everything. Let just say that the end will want you desperate for the next book.

It’s going to be a movie. 

8. City Of Bones – Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy, Young-Adult, Supernatural, Werewolves, Vampires

Divya’s Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★☆ (4/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.4/5)

What it’s about: When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…


Why you’ll like it: People get addicted to this series for a reason. It is full of action and as the series progresses Cassandra Clare is able to mould and create such an interesting and complex Shadowhunter world that she plans to write around 5 series worth of books in the world of the Shadowhunters.

It’s a complex urban fantasy with loveable characters and unpredictable twists – Ashali

This is a movie. Although, I do not recommend that you watch the movie before reading the book because the movie isn’t the most accurate portrayal of the book. 

9. Book Of Ivy – Amy Engel

Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Romance

Divya’s Rating: n/a

Ashali’s Rating: ★ (5/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.4/5)

What it’s about: The Book of Ivy follows Ivy who lives in a society where girls and boys are forced into arranged marriages at sixteen, in order to increase the dwindling population. – Ashali

Why you’ll like it: Although it’s a dystopian novel, the story emphasises character relationships and their development more than anything else. There is a wonderfully built romance and a dystopian world full of potential that I hope can be further developed in Book 2! – Ashali

It’s quite action packed – Maliha

10. Cinder – Marissa Meyer

Genre: Young-Adult, Sci-fi, Fairy Tales, Romance, Dystopian

Divya’s Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Ashali’s Rating: ★ (5/5)

Maliha’s Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5)

What it’s about: Set in the future in New Beijing there is a deadly plague running rampant and the people in the city are desperate to cure it.

Lihn Cinder, the city’s most gifted mechanic, is a second-class citizen and she is a cyborg. Part human, part metal, she finds herself somehow involved with the affairs of Prince Kai in a sort-of “forbidden” love and she is on a quest to find out what’s really going on with this whole plague.

Why you’ll like it: I’m not going to lie, the “plot twist” is utterly predictable. But I feel as if that doesn’t really subtract from the enjoyability of the book.

I mean, come on, Cinderella as a mechanic? Hell yes!

Meyer incorporates elements of well-loved fairytale and intertwines it into the plot so very cleverly. The book also deals with class differences, racial prejudices, includes strong female characters and also some diversity.

Everyone I have recommended this book to has loved it.


Have you read any of these books? Do you recommend any other series/stand-a-lones for fans of The Hunger Games? Leave them in the comments below and make sure to like the post if you liked it.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s