Bedtime Book Tag

Ahhh… books and sleep – two of my favourite things in the world.

 

1. What book kept you up all night reading?

I haven’t been staying up all night reading recently (quite frankly, I haven’t been reading at all) but from the memory I have it was Angelfall by Susan Ee for which I pulled an all-nighter. I remember Angelfall being highly addicting and full of top-quality banter.

IMG_3616
2. What book made you scared to go to sleep?

As strange as this might sound, I do remember The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin heavily creeping me out with the strange, almost paranormal happenings. The book itself isn’t necessarily a horror…. it’s just very disturbing.

IMG_3617
3. What book almost put you to sleep?

In my short 16 years there have been many books which have bored me to actual tears however, I distinctly remember Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë taking me a total of 6 (yes, 6) years to complete. You may call me uncultured, immature or anything you want. Perhaps I may revisit this when I am older and appreciate it more, perhaps I may not, all I know is that, for now, this a book that almost put me to sleep.  

IMG_3618

(TRASH)

(I’m only kidding, I took it out)

4. What book has you tossing and turning in anticipation of its release?

13206900Book: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Release date (UK): 10th of November 2015

About: “Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?” – Goodreads

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Retellings, Fairy Tale, Romance, Fiction

Winter is 800 pages thick and I presume it’s 800 pages of perfection.
5. What book has your dream girlfriend/ boyfriend?

I have a plethora of dream boyfriends and they all exclusively come from books but I’ve decided to highlight my most recent bookish boyfriend desire and that is: Frank Porter from the contemporary novel Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

Ah, Frank. 

Frank is someone I wish could be my boy-best-friend-turning-boyfriend. Not only is he smart and class president (high achiever there) but with all that running he does in the books he is written to have a shapely body too.Frank in the book is a gentleman and a real sweetheart, my type of man. I am not a big fan of the bad-boy-turned-good-guy trope which I’m sure many readers adore.

Honestly? Frank melts my heart.

IMG_3620
6. What book world would be your worst nightmare to live in?

I am going for a very cliché answer here but the idea of living in the world of The Hunger Games does scare me. Admittedly, we almost are living in a world like The Capitol right now with the ignorant elite vs the suffering working class, governmental controls and whacky fixations with the media. The thought of the chance of being reaped into The Hunger Games and living in dirt poor conditions whilst a totalitarian government looms above our heads is frightening.

IMG_3627
7. What book cover reminds you of nighttime?

The cover of Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe reminds me of my fantasies of what I hoped teenage life would be like – the nights where you and your significant other (or best friend) lay out on a porch, gazing at the twinkling sky in a cool summer’s night.

IMG_3621
8. What book has a nightmarish cliffhanger?

This was a hard one as there are many, many books that have ended in the most horrible yet strangely pleasing cliffhangers. A memory of one that stuck out to me was the ending of Insurgent by Veronica Roth and the painful wait for, what I consider to be, a very disappointing Allegiant.

IMG_3615
9. What book have you actually dreamed about?

Dreaming is honestly my favourite activity of all time (aside from eating and laughing). I don’t remember many dreams but I do remember having a dream about Clary and the gang in which I, myself, was a bad-ass shadowhunter.

IMG_3624
10. What book monster would you not want to find under your bed?

The vile creatures that authors are able to imagine frequently astound me. There are many abominable creatures which I would not want to find under my bed and one of them includes a dementor.

IMG_3629

 I mean, just look at the nasty things.

(A dementor that could really use some moisturiser) 

The original was created by Kellys BookSpill and the tag contains all kinds of sleep related questions.


like, comment & follow

Leave a Reply

